top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdi

THE LEVELS OF THE ZOMBIE GAME


In the last article, THE DEAD and THE ZOMBIE, you read about the difference between them. Now you know who you are. Are you dead or are you a zombie? (In case you haven't read the last article, I'll suggest you go and read that but if you already know you're a zombie then welcome to the team. Today's menu is your ex's brain served with hot piping criticism)


Jokes (and hunger) aside, open your mind now. We need to get serious here. There are various stages of being a zombie. I'd like to break it down to two broad levels. A LOST ZOMBIE and A PRO ZOMBIE.


You're a lost zombie when you suddenly realise nothing matters. The sun, the moon, the job and the college nothing matters. If the sun stops burning, so what? If the moon disappears, who cares? I lose the job, it'll hurt. I'll be devastated but that's okay. We will see. And the college sucks? Oh hell yeah, it does. I don't care what rank I'm getting as long as I'm just passing through, right? And if the world ends today... fair enough, it wasn't interesting anyway BECAUSE JUST NOTHING MATTERS.


For me, this phase was so vicious. I suddenly realised one day that whatever I was doing didn't matter. I found myself at a place where the sunny days were as gloomy as the rainy ones. I went to school, hung out with friends, talked to my parents, ordered from Swiggy (it's an online food delivering app) and chilled out. But still, I wasn't happy. I was a writer so I thought of writing my thoughts or just writing a story to help my condition. But it didn't help too. I just couldn't write nor read. Nothing seemed appealing.


I was just lost.


So when we are lost, we feel like we are drowning and desperately keep trying to find an anchor. We try finding reasons to justify why we feel lost. We try everything we know. Sometimes we criticise ourselves and sometimes we motivate ourselves. We watch different motivational videos online but fail to realise that it's for people who lack motivation and we don't lack that. We just lack the will power, the will to do something, anything.


We reach out to the people around us and some of us who are brave try talking it with our friends, family, siblings, cousins, teachers or whoever we think will understand us and the chances are we get a very skilled and ideal lecture about “Everything is going to be alright. Just don't lose faith and keep working hard.”


It irritates us (at least I got irritated A LOT upon hearing that ) and we decide not to talk about it.


Now we are lost, we know nothing matters and we even tried seeking help. So what else can we do? Accept it. That's where the PRO ZOMBIES enter the arena. They know they are lost, they have already tried everything out there, they have tried talking to people and now they are back empty-handed. Just nothing works for them. So what do they do? Chill out.


“Let it be.” becomes their personal slogan of life and they start “enjoying their life” (they won't accept they are actually wasting it if they do then where's the fun?). They sleep the whole day, go to bed late at night, keep staring at the ceiling (or phones) the whole night and then teleport themselves on different lazy areas (or couches) whole day.


LIFE IS JUST AMAZING and whenever their conscience tries to guilt-trip them, they shrug the voice reasoning, “I'll get better in a few days.” Days become weeks and weeks become months when they finally realize it's enough. In most cases, the realization comes after regret like really losing your job, failing in college or missing out a very important opportunity in life.


And then they start working upon themselves for real.


But do you really think coming out of this zombie game is so easy?




#MENTALHEALTH IS IMPORTANT TOO. LET'S TALK ABOUT IT BEFORE IT EATS UP THE ALIVE SOULS AND TURN THEM LIFELESS.


SHARE THIS ZOMBIE SERIES WITH PEOPLE YOU THINK MIGHT NEED IT.


43 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page